NRF recognizes home furnishings retailers

New York — Farooq Kathwari and Jeffrey Seaman will receive the Gold Medal Award and the Retail Innovator of the Year Award, respectively, from the National Retail Federation at its annual luncheon on Jan. 14.

In an unusual move for the NRF, two home furnishings retailers are being cited at the NRF's retail industry luncheon, a major event of the 92nd convention, which runs from Jan. 12 to 15.

Kathwari, chairman, president and ceo of Ethan Allen, and Seaman, president and ceo of Rooms-to-Go, will be joined by a yet-unannounced International Retailer of the Year award winner.

Kathwari, a NRF board member, is being recognized for excellence and creative genius and vision in leading the company's retail business. Seaman's citation is for "setting the company apart from the pack through the use of new, innovative or imaginative techniques, formats or services."

The luncheon will be held at the Jacob Javits Convention Center here from 12:30 p.m. to 1:45 pm.

Home & Textiles Today Staff | News & Commentary

 Home Textiles Today is the market-leading brand covering the home and textiles markets, offering a comprehensive package of print and online products. Home & Textiles Today provides industry news, product trends and introductions, exclusive industry research, consumer data, store operations solutions, trade show news and much more.

Featured Video

  • The Countdown to the ICON Honors Continues featuring Christophe Pourny

    Camera Icon More Videos


HTT digital edition

See the May 2017 issue of Home & Textiles Today. In this issue, we discuss our annual Market Basket survey, which finds higher prices and more polyester at leading retailers. See details!