follow us

Four named to American Textile Hall of Fame

Lowell, MA — The American Textile Hall of Fame has announced the inductees for the Class of 2002. Two companies — DuPont and Whitin Machine Works of Whitinsville, MA — will be honored alongside Frederick Dent, former chairman of Mayfair Mills, based in Spartanburg, SC, and secretary of commerce in the Nixon and Ford cabinets, and James Spencer Love (1896-1962), a pioneer in weaving synthetic fibers and the founder of Burlington Industries.

The two-year-old program honors dedication and commitment to the nation's textile industry and is housed in Lowell at the American Textile History Museum. This year's inductees will be feted at a luncheon ceremony at the museum on Sept. 9.

Accepting the awards will be Steven McCracken, president of DuPont Textiles & Interiors; Frederick Dent; Robert Love, son of the late James Spencer Love; and Kent Swift Jr., great-great-grandson of John Whitin.

Featured Video