follow us

Textiles hall of fame inducts four members

Four textiles industry leaders will join the American Textile Hall of Fame (ATHF) at a luncheon and induction ceremony honoring them here on Monday, Sept. 13 at the American Textile History Museum.

Inducted into the class of 2004 will be:

  • American Viscose Corporation (1910-1963), an early leader in the field of man-made fibers, which established America's first rayon plant in 1910;

  • W. Duke Kimbrell of Gastonia, N.C., who has built Parkdale Mills, Inc. into the nation's largest producer of cotton yarns;

  • Jack Lenor Larson, a leader in 20th century textiles design and technical innovation, whose New York design studio grew into a global organization, and who continues to influence 21st century weavers and designers;

  • The National Cotton Council established in 1938 and headquartered in Memphis, Tenn., which provides a voice for the American cotton industry from grower to manufacturer.

Tickets to the event are $45 per person; $35 for members of the Textile Industry Membership Program. For reservations, call 978.441.0400, extension 246.

Featured Video

Other Home Furnishings Sites

Casual Living
Furniture Today
Gifts and Decorative Accessories
Home Accents Today
Kids Today
HFN - Home Furnishings News