follow us

Sustainable Textiles Coalition schedules webinar for home textiles suppliers, retailers

New York - A group of retailers and home textiles suppliers who are working to develop a uniform, measureable standard for sustainability are following on up last week's meeting with manufacturers here with a free webinar to spread the word about the effort. Founding members of the Sustainable Textiles Coalition includes Target, Williams-Sonoma, Yunus and Coyuchi.
Other national retailers and sizeable are considering joining the effort, according to John Whalen, principal of Blu Skye, which helped the Sustainable Apparel Coalition in a similar effort. Because there are many similarities between apparel and home textiles production, the nascent home textiles council believes it can adapt much of the garment standard for the home, he told suppliers last week.
The immediate goal is to line up a dozen founding members to determine which pieces of the existing standard are appropriate for home and what processes and measures need to be developed specific to home.
The webinar will be held twice to accommodate as many people as possible.
The first webinar will take place this Thursday, March 28, at 7 a.m. Pacific, 10 a.m. Eastern, 3 p.m. Central European, 4 p.m. Turkey, 7:30 p.m. India and 10:00 p.m. China. The registration link is https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1481153562472474368.
The second webinar will take place Monday, April 1 at 7 a.m. Pacific, 10 a.m. Eastern, 3 p.m. Central European, 4 p.m. Turkey, 7:30 p.m. India and 10 p.m. China. The registration link is https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/5223852660514846208.

For additional information, contact Whalen at johnw@bluskye.com or Alison von Schlieder at alison@bluskye.com.

Featured Video

Other Home Furnishings Sites

Casual Living
Gifts and Decorative Accessories
Home Accents Today
Kids Today
Home & Textiles Today