Polo Ralph Lauren to be Honored at NRF 2010 Convention

The National Retail Federation will present its Gold Medal Award to Polo Ralph Lauren during its annual convention luncheon Jan. 12.

The award, given to individuals who have served the industry with distinction and achieved a national reputation for excellence, will be accepted by Roger Farah, president and coo. From 1994 to 2000, Farah was chairman and ceo of Venator Group. Prior to that, he served as president and coo of Macy’s, Inc., chairman and ceo of Federated Merchandising Services, and chairman and ceo of Rich’s Department Stores. He also held several executive positions at Saks Fifth Avenue.

The Retail Innovator of the Year award will go to Tony Hsieh, ceo of Zappos.com, who oversaw the growth of the online retailer’s sales from $1.6 million in 2000 to more than $1 billion in 2008.

The International Retailer of the Year will go to Tadashi Yanai, chairman and ceo of Fast Retailing Co. Ltd. of Japan, the holding company that owns the Uniqlo chain of casual wear stores as well as Link Theory Holdings Co. and Nelson Finances.

The Silver Plaque will go to Dave Ratner, president of Dave’s Soda Pet City, a four-store merchant of pet supplies, pet treats and soda.

NRF’s Annual Convention and EXPO will take place in New York from Jan. 10-13 at the Jacob Javits Center.

Featured Video

Subscribe to
Home & Textiles Today eDaily
Receive the news you need to know about the trends in the industry delivered right to your inbox.


HTT digital edition

See the June 2017 issue of Home & Textiles Today. In this issue, we discuss how U.S, ports are gearing up for the future, and what to expect from second half trade shows. See details!