Four Enter Textiles Hall of Fame

The American Textile History Museum inducted four new members into the American Textile Hall of Fame (ATHF).

Inductees: American Viscose Corporation (1922-1963), whose first plant was in Marcus Hook, Pa., was recognized for its early leadership in the field of man-made fibers and its growth into the largest American supplier of rayon ; W. Duke Kimbrell of Gastonia, N.C., and chairman of Parkdale Mills, Inc., who built the company into the nation's largest producer of cotton yarns; Jack Lenor Larsen, a leader in 20th century textiles design and technical innovation, whose New York design studio grew into a global organization, and who continues to influence 21st century weavers and designers; and The National Cotton Council, established in 1938 and headquartered in Memphis, Tenn., which provides a voice for the American cotton industry from grower to manufacturer, stated the museum.

The program, now in its fourth year, honors dedication and commitment to the nation's textiles industry. The ATHF is located here at the American Textile History Museum.

Home & Textiles Today Staff | News & Commentary

 Home Textiles Today is the market-leading brand covering the home and textiles markets, offering a comprehensive package of print and online products. Home & Textiles Today provides industry news, product trends and introductions, exclusive industry research, consumer data, store operations solutions, trade show news and much more.

Featured Video

  • The Countdown to the ICON Honors Continues featuring Christophe Pourny

    Camera Icon More Videos


HTT digital edition

See the May 2017 issue of Home & Textiles Today. In this issue, we discuss our annual Market Basket survey, which finds higher prices and more polyester at leading retailers. See details!